Ballon d’Or 2021: Full List Of Award Winners

Ballon d’Or 2021: Full List Of Award Winners
Ballon d’Or 2021: Full List Of Award Winners

The 2021 Ballon d’Or award ceremony held on Monday night at the Théâtre du Chatelet in Paris, France bringing together some of the best footballers and stakeholders across the world.

As earlier reported by Naija News, Argentine forward and Paris Saint-Germain striker, Lionel Messi emerged as the winner of the 2021 men’s Ballon d’Or.

The talismanic player made history on Monday night when he was declared winner of the award ahead of all other contestants including Cristiano Ronaldo and Robert Lewandowski.

With the 2021 award in the kitty, 34-year-old Messi has now won the Ballon d’Or for a record seventh time.

But apart from Messi, there were other winners in other categories including the two new categories just introduced by the organizers this year.

Robert Lewandowski won the maiden ‘Striker of the Year’ award and finished second after Messi in the rankings for the men’s Ballon d’Or.

In the women’s category, Barcelona midfielder,  Alexia Putella has been declared the winner of the women’s Ballon d’Or for 2021 after helping the club to a dominant treble.

The Spain international was instrumental in the success of the female team of the La Liga side as they won the Spanish league, cup, and Champions League.

The 27-year-old midfielder scored in both cup finals and had 37 goals and 27 assists to date.

Elsewhere, 19-year-old Spaniard, Pedri won the Kopa Trophy which is the award for best performing player under the age of 21 while Gianluigi Donnarumma on Monday night, clinched the Yashin Trophy, which is the award for best goalkeeper.

Apart from the best striker award just introduced this year by the organizers, the ‘Best Club’ category which is also making its debut was won by Chelsea.

Below is the full list of winners on Monday night.

Men’s Ballon d’Or: Lionel Messi

Women’s Ballon d’Or: Alexia Putellas

Kopa Trophy: Pedri

Yashin Trophy: Gianluigi Donnarumma

Best Striker of the Year: Robert Lewandowski

Best Club: Chelsea